Congress of the United States Mashington, DC 20515

November 29, 2022

The Honorable Charles E. Schumer Majority Leader United States Senate 322 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader United States Senate 317 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker United States House of Representatives 1236 Longworth H.O.B Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Minority Leader United States House of Representatives 2468 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Leader Schumer, Speaker Pelosi, Leader McConnell, and Leader McCarthy:

We write to ask for your support for continuing the Endangered Species Act (ESA) listing prohibition for the greater sage-grouse in any end-of-year spending packages. This provision has been included in annual spending bills since fiscal year 2015, to the benefit of wildlife populations and Western communities. Species conservation is deeply important in the West, and the greater sage-grouse stands as a prime example of these efforts. Eleven western states, spanning the entirety of sage-grouse habitat have each adopted their own collaborative, science-based conservation plans, tailored specifically to address localized landscape needs and recover the species. These plans were made with comprehensive contributions from diverse stakeholders including scientific experts, conservationists, federal officials, and local industry leaders.

However, despite this transparent and scientific approach, the greater sage-grouse has constantly been the subject of continuous litigation and baseless listing petitions for years. The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) has repeatedly and consistently found the existing combination of state-led strategies to be successful in preventing the need to list the species, even through three listing considerations within a tenyear period. The constant threat of litigation greatly undermines the collaborative process first started by the Obama Administration in 2011 and continued by bipartisan western governors and now the Biden Administration.

The listing prohibition has helped, not hindered, the commitment to conserving the greater sage-grouse. In fact, each year the listing prohibition has been in place, funding for sage-grouse conservation has continued to rise. This is due to the commitment and partnerships of federal, state, and local leaders who take ownership and responsibility in the achievement of their individual plans. In contrast, cyclical litigation diverts time and resources which could otherwise be used for real conservation efforts. Species conservation is a gradual process, and conservation plans need time to be implemented without disruption in order to show results. States and local communities have invested years in the development and application of sage-grouse conservation. Continuing to provide for their expertise and on-the-ground

decision-making is the best way to conserve the greater sage-grouse and rural communities alike. The continuation of the prohibition against ESA listing for the greater sage-grouse is vital not only for the preservation of local decision-making, but also for the long-term survival of the species. We greatly appreciate your consideration of this request.

James E. Risch United States Senator

Darrasso

John Barrasso, M.D. United States Senator

John Hoeven United States Senator

Kevin Cramer United States Senator

Mike Crapo

United States Senator

Steve Daines United States Senator

Mitt Romnev

United States Senator

Cynthia M. Lummis United States Senator

Sincerely,

M.C. Mike Simpson

Member of Congress

Bruce Westerman Member of Congress

Russ Fulcher Member of Congress

house S. Amores

Mark Amodei Member of Congress

John Curtis Member of Congress

Chris Stewart Member of Congress

Dan Newhouse Member of Congress

Tom McClintock Member of Congress

P.E Michael S. Lee

United States Senator

(Sures Lauren Boebert

Member of Congress

Cliff Bentz

Member of Congress

1A1

Matthew Rosendale, Sr. Member of Congress

Blake Moore Member of Congress

3 Lo May

Doug LaMalfa Member of Congress